Uhuru signs Sh370bn revenue allocation Bill into law

revenue allocation Bill

President Uhuru Kenyatta has assented into law the 2020/2021 County Revenue Allocation Bill, paving the way for disbursement of funds from Treasury to the counties

The president signed the bill into law on Thursday morning at State House, Nairobi.

The new law allocates a sum of Sh369.87 billion in the current fiscal year to Counties and includes Sh316.5 billion of Equitable Share and Sh13.73 billion in Government of Kenya Conditional Grants.

The signing was witnessed by National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi, Treasury CS Ukur Yattani, Leaders of Majority in the Senate and the National Assembly Samuel Poghisio and Amos Kimunya.

Also Read: Police disrupt planned DP Ruto’s Nyamira fundraiser

Also included is Sh9.43 billion from the Road Maintenance/Fuel Levy as well as Sh30.2 billion in Loans and Grants. The conditional allocation will be utilized in the provision of services such as leasing of medical equipment and rehabilitation of youth polytechnics across all the 47 Counties.

Senators approved the Bill on September 29 after a long tussle on how to share the revenue among the 47 counties. Counties have been in a financial ditch and have scaled-down operations following a standoff in the Senate over the third basis for sharing revenue among counties.

The Council of Governors had shut down operations in county governments following a delay in releasing funds. Yatani had already indicated that Sh60 billion was ready for disbursement to the counties once all the legislations are in place. The Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakang’o said the counties, except three which have not submitted their budgets, are free to access the cash once the enabling laws are passed.

Be the first to comment on "Uhuru signs Sh370bn revenue allocation Bill into law"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.