Kenya extends curfew, closes her borders with Tanzania, Somali

lock down

The government of Kenya has extended the nationwide 7 pm to 5 am curfew by another 21 days.

On Saturday, President Uhuru Kenyatta announced that the curfew will now stay in place until June 6, 2020.

Also extended for a similar period is the cessation of movement into and out of the counties of Nairobi, Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale and Mandera.

The President further announced closure of the Kenya-Somalia, Kenya-Tanzania borders for 30 days except for cargo effective midnight tonight.

He directed that all cargo truck drivers to be tested for Covid-19 and will only be allowed entry into the country if they test negative.

In an address at statehouse the President announced that the country has recorded 49 new Coronavirus cases.

Also Read: Rwandan fugitive Félicien Kabuga arrested in Paris

He said in the last 24 hours five people succumbed to the virus bringing the total number of fatalities to 50.

By Saturday, 301 people from had been discharged from Kenya’s healthcare facilities with 481 others currently undergoing treatment.

“If we had not taken tough steps to fight this virus, there could be many more infections and fatalities,” he said.

The President said in the last week, Kenya reported an increase in the number of cases crossing into the country.

A total of 43 cases crossed from Somalia and Tanzania. Out of the 43, Wajir recorded 14, Isebania 10, Namanga 16, Lungalunga 2 and Loitoktok 1.

Be the first to comment on "Kenya extends curfew, closes her borders with Tanzania, Somali"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.