4 statehouse officers test positive for coronavirus


Four members of staff at State House in Nairobi have tested positive for the novel Coronavirus, Spokesperson Kanze Dena confirmed on Monday.

In a statement, Dena said President Uhuru Kenyatta and the First family tested negative for the virus.

She said the four tested positive on Thursday, 11th June 2020, during a mass testing exercise at statehouse.

The officers were immediately admitted at the Kenyatta University Teaching, Referral and Research Hospital in Kiambu County for treatment.

“As part of proactive measures being implemented to contain the spread of Covid-19, State House staff are regularly tested for the disease. The tests are conducted on all staff including His Excellency the President and members of his family,” Dena said.

Also Read: Kilifi county commissioner calls for mass testing

She said to strengthen Covid-19 containment measures, extra access protocols for State House staff residing outside the compound and visitors have been rolled out.

“State House would also like to remind Kenyans that every person is at risk of contracting Covid-19. No one is immune to the disease,” Dena said.

Earlier ODM leader Raila Odinga had announced that he took the test and his results had come out negative.

This comes at a time when the country recorded 133 new covid-19 cases bringing the total to 3,727.

According to Health CS Mutahi Kagwe said this is out of 3,365 samples tested in the last 24 hours.

To date, a total of 180,701 tests have been done. A total of 33 patients have been discharged raising the recoveries to 1,286. One more patient has succumbed, raising the fatalities to 104.

The 133 positive cases are distributed in the following counties; Mombasa, 61, Nairobi, 53 cases, Kilifi, 7, Busia 6, Kiambu 2, Kajiado, Nakuru, Murang’a, and Kitui, one case each.

In sub-counties, the cases are distributed as follows;Mombasa, has 61 cases from Likoni, 24, Mvita, 19, Nyali, 7, Kisauni 5, Changamwe 5, and Jomvu one case.

In Nairobi, the 53 cases are from; Mathare, 10,Kamukunji 9, Westlands 6, Starehe, 5, Makadara 4, Embakasi west, Embakasi East, and Kibra 3 cases each, Ruaraka, Embakasi south,and Kasarani 2 cases each, Embakasi Central, Dagoretti North, Dagoretti South and Langata, one case each.

In Kilifi, all the seven cases are from Rabai.

About the Author

Moses Okitae
Moses Okitae Writes about Science stories, food security and human interest stories.

Be the first to comment on "4 statehouse officers test positive for coronavirus"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.